Fleurs de Lis for Paris KAL: Day 1

The Fleur de Lis was a popular design element in Victorian needlework patterns.  As another example, here is a colourful design intended to be embroidered on canvas, from needlework pattern in The Work-table magazine of church and decorative needlework, by Mrs. Mee and Miss Austin; Bath, England, 1847.  Like the counterpane design, it features a symmetrical pattern with 4 fleur de lis lilies in each group.

fleur de lis embroidery

You may choose to knit directly from the original pattern; or knit using my rewritten pattern. I hope you will take the time to search for the original design and look at it, and be inspired to search for other antique patterns to try, as well.  The link is given in yesterday’s post.

I have made a Ravelry pattern page for this rewritten design. I hope you will take the time to add it to your ‘Favourites’–just click that little heart 🙂 — or queue; and if you make it, please link it to my pattern.  It is nice to feel appreciation 🙂 I also have a Group on Ravelry you are welcome to join.  Though there hasn’t been much activity on it, that can only be changed by more people interacting.  You are also welcome to share photos on my Facebook Page–the feed is shown on the right hand margin of the blog.

Fleurs de Lis for Paris Ravelry Page

When I have finished rewriting and reworking it, I will add a pdf file to the Ravelry page.  Meanwhile, each day I will add more lines here on my blog.  Please remember that I am an older grandmother, and my health is not as reliable as it used to be–there may be a day I have to miss posting a few new rows; but please be assured that I will add them as soon as possible.

If you find any more errors in my rewritten pattern rows, please send me a message on Ravelry or on my Facebook page—Facebook is usually the quickest way to get my attention, just send a personal message.

Abbreviations

k = knit

p = purl

Materials

Beautiful Counterpane orig fleurs de lis materials

  • My original recreation uses Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, worsted weight, 100g for 1 square and an insertion strip on just 1 edge. I used 3.75mm needles, and the overall size, blocked, is about 15 inches X 19 inches.
  • I am using Aunt Lydia’s Bamboo Crochet Thread (a size 10 thread) and 2mm needles for my KAL version. The main square will be approximately 6 inches X 6 inches.
  • I’m also making a Tote Bag with Red Heart Super Saver Solids in aran colour; with 4mm needles.  I’ll need to make 2 squares, plus a strip of the insertion to form the shoulder strap, bottom and sides of the bag.  You can see my project here on Ravelry.

Instructions

Cast on 53 stitches.

  1. k53.
  2. k53.
  3. k2, p49, k2.
  4. k2, p49, k2.
  5. k2, p1, k19, p3, k3, p3, k19, p1, k2.
  6. k3, p19, k3, p3, k3, p19, k3.
  7. k2, p1, k1, p18, k9, p18, k1, p1, k2.
  8. k3, p1, k18, p9, k18, p1, k3.
  9. k2, p1, k1, p17, k5, p1, k5, p17, k1, p1, k2.
  10. k3, p1, k17, p5, k1, p5, k17, p1, k3.

Here is a clipping of the original 10 lines.  Note:  ‘Knit 2 plain rows’ means to knit 2 rows—‘plain knitting’ is what we now call garter stitch.  ‘Seam’ means ‘purl.’

Beautiful Counterpane orig fleurs de lis 1-10

©2015 WENDY M. ANDERSON ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

This pattern, photos, and items made from this pattern are protected under Canadian Copyright Law.

THE ORIGINAL DESIGN, IN ITS ORIGINAL FORMAT, IS NOW IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN AND YOU MAY FIND IT ONLINE AT THE ORIGINAL SOURCE AND WRITE OR PUBLISH YOUR OWN INTERPRETATION OF THE WORK. 

MY REWRITTEN DESIGN, INCLUDING MY PHOTOS AND WORDING OF ERRORS FOUND, ETC., ARE NOT IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN AND ARE COPYRIGHT TO ME.  THEY MAY NOT BE COPIED AND USED IN ANY WAY.  THEY ARE FOR YOUR OWN PERSONAL USE ONLY. THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ THIS.

CONTACT WEST COAST FIBRE ARTS:

Email:  westcoastsupernatural@yahoo.ca

Blog:  https://westcoastsupernatural.wordpress.com/

Facebook: West Coast: Super, Natural

Mail: P.O.Box 591, Cumberland, BC CANADA V0R 1S0

[i] Cover illustration: from needlework pattern in The Work-table magazine of church and decorative needlework, by Mrs. Mee and Miss Austin; Bath, England, 1847.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fleurs de Lis for Paris, Patterns, Vintage Patterns

Leave a comment