1943 Victory Barnyard CrochetAlong

There are wonderful vintage patterns available online, and one that I have wanted to make for a couple of years is a set of toys called the Victory Barnyard, with animals and boy and girl farmer dolls too!  Do you want to #CrochetAlong with me? The patterns can be found here at the Free Vintage Crochet website.  I am going to make the toys in the order they are listed on the site.  On my blog, here, I will post my interpretation of the directions, which you can follow, or just read them from the website–after all, my interpretation might not be what you would do if you work from the original pattern!  There are hundreds of other wonderful patterns on the site, make sure you check them out! I have made several of the pot-holders.

I hope you will post photos on my Facebook page if you follow along and make these vintage toys with me!

The first pattern listed ~ so the first I am making ~ is Henry Rooster. I am going to use worsted weight yarn and a 4.25mm hook, so my toys will be about 1/3 larger than if I used the material and hook suggested in the pattern.  How do I know this? Because it lists gauge as 6 stitches per inch, and when I worked 6 single crochet it measured 1 and 1/2  inches instead!

20140601_093450

 

Do you like my vintage ruler? It is almost as old as the pattern! It is from a local Courtenay Chevrolet automobile dealer in 1949/1950!

20140601_093518

HENRY ROOSTER

My interpretation:

Worsted weight yarn in green, or other colour of choice, and small amounts of dark yellow and red.

4 or 4.25mm hook

Row 1. Chain 12; single crochet in 2nd chain from hook and in each chain across.  Chain 1, turn. [NOTE: mark the beginning of this row as the front—the end of this row is the tail end.]

Row 2.  2 single crochet in the first stitch; single crochet in each stitch to the last, 3 single crochet in the last stitch. Chain 1, turn.

Rows 3 to 10. Repeat rows 1 and 2.

Row 11. 2 single crochet in the first stitch; single crochet in each stitch to the end.  Chain 1, turn.

Row 12.  Single crochet in each stitch to the last stitch, 2 single crochet in the last stitch.  Chain 1, turn.

Rows 13-17.  Repeat rows 11 and 12 ending with a repeat of Row 11.

FINISHED ROW 17!   More will come tomorrow.

row17

Leave a comment

Filed under Victory Farmyard, Vintage Patterns

Leave a Reply

