An Old New Way to SKP decrease

SKP one step

[click on the photo to view it in a larger size, so you can read my notes on it]

I have been knitting off and on for over 50 years now; last night I learned a new way to do the “slip 1, knit 1, pass the slipped stitch over” in one simple step–and I marvel that it didn’t occur to me before, and that I haven’t seen it anywhere.  I’m sure it IS posted in lots of places–but this is the first time I have come across it!

I was test knitting the stitches used in an 1884 pattern for an “infants knitted jacket” when I read the writer’s instructions in a lace row.  NOTE that “1 plain” means “1 knit” stitch:

“slip 1, 1 plain, draw the slipped stitch over the knitted one. (The easiest way of doing this is to draw the second stitch through the first of the two on the left hand needle and knit it, then take the two off the needle together.).”

Try it….after you do it a few times, it is very quick and easy!

Tomorrow I’ll share a “test swatch” cloth pattern, knit in worsted weight cotton with your choice of needles.  Soon I’ll be knitting the little sweater, and that pattern will be available too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

