Crochet a “Downton Abbey Mystery KAL 2014”

BOTH THE DOWNTON ABBEY INSPIRED SHAWLS ARE NOW AVAILABLE AS PAID PDF DOWNLOADS.  THEY ARE $5.00 (Canadian) EACH.  PLEASE VISIT MY RAVELRY STORE TO PURCHASE THEM, OR TO BROWSE THROUGH OTHER DESIGNS.  YOU MAY LIKE THE CROCHETED COWL, “MR. MOLESLEY’S ROADWORKS COWL.”

lady edith's london nights collage1Tea with Lady Grantham pattern collage2MolesleyCollage

I am going to design a crochet shawl inspired by the knitted Downton Abbey Mystery KAL 2014. The designer of the KAL shawl, Kristen Ashbaugh-Helmreich, has graciously given me permission to do this. I will post the details here on my blog, if you would like to see my progress or make one too! When it is complete I will collect it all into a Pdf file. If you have any questions about the crochet shawl “Lady Edith’s London Nights” please message me!

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THE CROCHET VERSION WRITE ME HERE, ON RAVELRY OR FACEBOOK.  DO NOT  ASK KRISTEN/KAL PAGE AS THAT IS KNIT NOT CROCHET! THANK YOU.

As crochet is so much denser than knitting, and the stitches larger, I am testing it with a sock/fingering weight yarn instead of double knitting weight. To get about the same gauge as the knit version I am using a 3.5 mm hook. I am making my first trial in a stash yarn that is lovely jewel tones of green/orange/multi–Lang Yarns “Jawoll Cotton,” 45g/175m.

The knit design requires  503 m of yarn–4 balls of Jawoll Cotton is 700m; crochet uses about 1/3 more yardage than knitting so I should have enough.  As this is the first test model, I’ll buy another yarn and make sure I have lots of spare yardage!  I’d like a yarn that has the “plenty of drape” suggested.  The yarn used by the designer is 70% alpaca and 30% silk.

Canadian/US terms used.

The first step of the gauge test is to  find out which hook will give you a “Chain 20″ that measures 4 inches.  Try a hook–measure–if it isn’t 4 inches try a size bigger or smaller, or even a different hook the same size.  Hooks are strange–one of my 3.5mm hooks gave me a chain 4.25″ long–and a different brand 3.5mm gave me 4”.

downton 004 downton 006

You want to crochet with a tension and hook that gives you 5 stitches = 1 inches and 7 rows = 1 inch in single crochet (Canadian/US terms used) .

Gauge test: chain 21, single crochet in the second chain from hook and in each chain to end of row.  Chain 1, turn. *single crochet in each stitch to end of row.  Chain 1, turn.* Repeat from * to * until you’ve completed at least 2 inches.  Measure–see if your gauge is close to the ideal!  If not you will have to pull it out and try again.  If it is—–pull it out and you can begin!

Tomorrow I will add the instructions for Week #1

NOTE THAT I AM WRITING THIS AS I FIGURE OUT A PATTERN.  I WILL ADD ON AS I WORK.

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THE CROCHET VERSION WRITE ME HERE, ON RAVELRY OR FACEBOOK.  DO NOT  ASK KRISTEN/KAL PAGE AS THAT IS KNIT NOT CROCHET! THANK YOU.

And…Day 5 of my “Item a Day” is a crocheted cosy for my favourite cup; adorned with a flower, then felted to fit snugly.  Now my coffee will stay hot until I reach the end of a row or round!

cup cosy

2 Comments

Filed under Crochet Lace Shawl, Downton Abbey, Lady Edith's London Nights, Tea With Lady Grantham

2 responses to “Crochet a “Downton Abbey Mystery KAL 2014”

  1. dianna

    how do i locate the cal instructions ?

    • West Coast: Super, Natural

      I will make them into paid pdf files when the patterns are complete, with links to download here, on Facebook and Ravelry; until they are posted, the instructions are in blog posts.

Leave a Reply

