Victorian Doily motif

Today I worked on some ongoing projects, and also spent a few minutes deciding what thread and hook to use for Madame Goubaud’s D’Oyley 1.

day 4, goubaut 1 and kids 007

I worked a sample of the same motif I made yesterday, but this time with Sesia N.5 Cable cotton (50g=215m). I remember I purchased 6 balls of it for $5.50 at the Salvation Army Thrift Store last year. I was catching the bus and had no change; bus drivers no longer give change, so I had to run into a store to buy something and ‘break’ a $20 bill. The Thrift Store was nearby, so I went in there to check the yarn area……

I tried several steel hooks, newish and vintage, and used the one that ‘feels’ right. It is a Stratnoid 16–and as all thread crocheters will know, steel hook sizes are quite a kettle of fish to try to make any sense of. I am not certain what an exact modern equivalent might be–1.25mm to 1.5mm.  I found an interesting little article with vintage Stratnoid ads, though, while I was searching for information on Stratnoid sizing, and also found this cute pullover pattern from 1933.

1933 sweater

Item a Day–Day 4  Motif 1: the second photo shows today’s thread version on top of yesterday’s worsted weight version so you can see the size difference!

  day 4, goubaut 1 and kids 004day 4, goubaut 1 and kids 003

Motif 2: this is a fairly standard Irish Crochet rose:

GoubaudDoily2

day 4, goubaut 1 and kids 006

Of course, Number 5 cotton is much heavier thread than Victorian women would have used, but my eyesight makes it difficult to use finer thread, especially in the evening under poor light.  I’ll try using finer thread on a sunny afternoon in natural light.  Nonetheless, I feel rather old-fashioned and connected to the past when I crochet these old doily patterns!

day 4, goubaut 1 and kids 008

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Patterns

Leave a Reply

