Tyee Fish Hat

BUY THE TYEE FISH HAT PATTERN NOW

fish

Sept 8, 2013: The Tyee Fish Hat pattern is back online, but it is no longer free. However, I am charging a smaller amount for the Tyee Fish Hat pattern than for other hat patterns. And the Tyee Hat is now joined by another Fishy friend, the Magic Carp! The new pattern is ready, after numerous requests to write out the instructions to make this variation.

MAGIC CARP, inspired by Magikarp: Now you can make your own and be the talk of the Geeky community!  Here is the Geekishly Delightful Pattern.

BUY MAGIKARP PDF PATTERN NOW

magikarp; kids 057

hood-012.jpg

IF YOU WISH TO SELL ITEMS YOU MAKE PLEASE WRITE TO ME FIRST FOR MY WRITTEN PERMISSION.

PLEASE RESPECT MY COPYRIGHT.  IF YOU JUST CHANGE A COUPLE OF THINGS (FINS, TAIL, ETC) THAT DOES NOT MAKE IT YOUR PATTERN: IT IS STILL MY DESIGN!! DO NOT POST VARIATIONS TO MY DESIGN ONLINE–ON FORUMS,BLOGS,  RAVELRY, ETC.

PLEASE READ MY COPYRIGHT PAGE BEFORE PURCHASING OR USING MY PATTERNS.

***PLEASE REMEMBER THAT IT IS ILLEGAL TO SHARE MY FILES ONLINE OR POST THEM TO FILE-SHARING SITES SUCH AS SCRIBD OR GOBOOKEE***

COPYRIGHT IS A COMPLICATED ISSUE WHICH IS UNDERSTOOD AND INTERPRETED BY INDIVIDUALS DIFFERENTLY, AND VARIES FROM COUNTRY TO COUNTRY. THERE ARE, HOWEVER, INTERNATIONALLY RECOGNIZED COPYRIGHT LAWS. I ADVISE PEOPLE TO INVESTIGATE THESE; AND IF YOU ARE IN DOUBT ABOUT THE USE OF YOUR PATTERNS, PHOTOS, BLOG POSTS,ETC.,TAKE “SCREENCAPTURE” IMAGES AND SAVE THEM TO YOUR COMPUTER, AS I DID, AS PROOF OF USE BY OTHERS: IF THEY ALTER OR REMOVE THEIR POSTS/LINKS ETC. YOU THEN HAVE EVIDENCE OF THE ORIGINAL.
At long last:  Tyee Fish Hat!  This is a crocheted version of a very well-known knitted hat pattern, posted with the knowledge and permission of the knit-hat designer.

Hats012
Hats010
Hats011
Hats016

13 Comments

Filed under Fish Hats, For Sale, Hats, Patterns, Woolworks

13 responses to “Tyee Fish Hat

  1. Jen

    LOVE THE HAT! I have finished it up to the tail. I am a little confused, should i make 4 of the tails and sew together, are the tails sewn together right sides together? Sorry for the questions, I am anxious to finish and I love,love, love the hat!

    Jen

    • Westcoast: Super, Natural

      When you get as far as the tail, you just work all the tail rows once over half the stitches; then cut the yarn, fasten off, and tie your yarn back on where you started the first half of the tail, and work the same tail rows over the remaining stitches. This gives you two identical tail parts, already attached to the hat–you just sew the side and top edges together. I will try to get a hat made tomorrow and post a picture of this part. Thanks for trying my pattern!

  2. Jen M.

    Thanks:) Am I essentially making the tail 4 times and sewing 2 together in the front and 2 together in the back? I am sorry that I am confused. The hat worked up so nicely. I really like working from the mouth to the tail, you have a much better idea of the size. Thanks again for your patience and your help. Already to work on my 2nd fish as soon as I complete the tail!

    • Westcoast: Super, Natural

      No, you do not make 4 tail pieces. When you get to where it says to start the tail, you do not cut the yarn–the tail is not made in separate pieces. You just continue to sc for 9 stitches more on the hat, then ch 1, turn the work, etc–you just are not working all the way around anymore, you are working in rows instead. When you : THEN you cut the yarn and tie it back on where the first half started, and do the 9 sc into the top of the hat. When you finish row 9 again, you will see that the 2 halves match up, and where to sew the tail together. I am half done a hat, when I get to the tail I will send a couple of photos and post them too–I don’t think the pattern is quiete clear enough that the tail is not made separately, and thanks for pointing it out to me! I will post a couple of photos of how I attach the yarn and make the fins right onto the hat, too–no sewing at all for them, thank goodness, as I hate sewing bits together! Watch for photos tonight, I hope!

  3. Emma

    Hello. I just finished making a fish hat. My partner saw your pattern and asked me to make him one. Thank you so much for all the hard work it must have taken you to write the pattern. I’m new to crochet and found it pretty easy to follow. I had loads of fun and it’s a great early christmas pressie. xxx

  4. Kirsty

    Do you have any idea when you’ll put the pattern back up? I’d love to make one of these guys, he’s awesome.

  5. Kathy Davis

    I am fairly new at this, just single and double crochet. Would I be able to make this or is it too complicated? Also does it come in adult sizes? Thanks, Kathy

    • West Coast: Super, Natural

      You adjust the size by using a larger hook. As you start at the bottom–the part that goes around your head/forehead–it is easy to measure it after you finish a few rows, to make sure it is the right size.

      I think a fairly new crocheter can make the hat–if you have any difficulty just send me a note here, or on the Facebook page and I’ll help you!

  6. Kathy Davis

    Thanks for the advice. Is this pattern a download or will it come in the mail? Also what size hook would you recommend? …Just a few more questions before I order.

    • West Coast: Super, Natural

      sorry I didn’t get back to you about this, I missed the comment. I hope that you have been able to choose hook size–changing the hook size is what changes the size of the hat. I see that you purchased the pattern. If you need more help, please send a message on my Facebook page, I check it more often–several times a day.

  7. Pingback: Chilly Mornings = Finished Projects! – The Housewyfe

Leave a Reply

